Talking Bollocks #1 – The Effects Of Music

13235569_10201478332916120_8551967418377999021_oOne of the things that I love the most about music is those moments that blow your mind wide open into a whole new way of listening to music. The perfect example is when I was 13, I had spent years adopting that opinion of “The heavier, the better”. As much as I love some of those bands (Spineshank, Murderdolls and Raging Speedhorn, to name a few), some of the music I was coming across was just dull and didn’t really do anything for me.

Then I bought Rage Against The Machine’s The Battle Of Los Angeles after hearing Sleep Now In The Fire and scouring dial up internet for a few other songs to check out. Upon listening and reading that RATM disclaimer of “All Sounds Made By Guitars, Bass, Drums and Vocals” my mind majorly what-the-fucked. It allowed me to properly listen to bands like The Mars Volta and really appreciate everything that goes into making a song, creating all different sounds and being truly experimental.

Where am I going with this? Another band it got me into was Sonic Youth, who I only otherwise listened to for their cover of Touch Me I’m Sick. Slowly picking up each album, Sonic Youth in turn delivered a great mind fuck.

I was listening to the Evol record for the first time and it rolls out the last track in their typical noisy fashion, and then it starts skipping, but the way it sounds, it isn’t the normal jumping you would get with vinyl, so I assumed it was part of the song, if anything to trick you into getting up and thinking the record was fucked up, and refused to fall for it. I sit it out for a minute, thinking surely there wasn’t much room left on the record for this to keep up, so I get up to see how much is left. The needle is practically at the end of the groves but looking closely the stylus isn’t jumping. After a moment I stop the record and have a look, and realise that where the tracks are listed, the song length has an infinity symbol, obviously meaning it is made to never stop. And if you actually look, the are no groves to carry the needle to the centre, it is closed off. So despite refusing to be tricked, it still fucking got me. The joys of Sonic Youth, and the joys of vinyl.

Anyway, that was all, just a story I wanted to share. It’s amazing how such a simple idea in music can have such a great impact on you.

Jake Hancke – 30/11/2016

Leave a Reply

