Reptilians From Andromeda – Groove Overdrive [EP Review]

Reptilians From Andromeda - Groove OverdriveIt’s not often that you come across Turkish rock bands, in fact, Reptilians From Andromeda are possibly the first that I have listened to. With an underlying “Garage-Rock” sound, this EP is quite the release to talk about.

So, for starters, I was drawn in by the associated genres – dubbed as sounding similar to early 80s post-punk and New York no-wave, I was pretty psyched to check out what these guys (and gals) sound like, let alone direct comparisons to Killing Joke and Joy Division. On top of that, I love quirky limited releases, such as the 45 cassette copies that are available for this release.

Unfortunately, this is another one of those cases where I peaked my excitement over the press release. And I hate to say it, but my biggest problem with Reptilians From Andromeda is the vocals; they sound painfully out of tune more often than not. I won’t review something that I haven’t given at least few good listens to, and in the past, if I haven’t felt the music, I haven’t written a review to avoid being unfair against the release. But this one is certainly standout in many respects.

Groove Overdrive isn’t wholly unlistenable; the drums definitely pound out some 80s industrial/punk vibes, and these are accompanied by very powerful basslines, which should be right at home for any fan of either style/instrument. The guitars are rather set back and play out some my indie style rhythms along the way. There are some synths and electronics woven in, however the live played instruments don’t always feel on point. That said, the general feel of the music alone would be right up the street of anyone who was into the indie rock scene of the 80s.

Now although the vocals do fit the style, they can be a major ear-sore. Anyone who is familiar with my reviews will know that I’m not all about perfect in key vocals (I’m a huge fan of Rancid, if that doesn’t tell you enough), but with Reptilians  From Andromeda, something about it is way to strong a turn off from the listenability factor. And it is a shame, as the better moments really do round off the overall sound well.

Maybe there are masses of people out there who will actually love this, but growing up listening to the kind of music that seems to be such an influence here, I can’t see the huge appeal.

Overall Rating: 4.0/10

Jake Hancke – 25/04/2017

Groove Overdrive is available now from Cruel Nature Records.

You can find more on Reptiles From Andromeda on Facebook and Soundcloud.

Leave a Reply

